Canterbury GC Fri 9th December 2022 Event and Results

Canterbury Golf Club hosted the last event of the Societies 2022 season with a Texas Scramble golf competition, charity donations and prize giving ceremony


Texas Scramble winners: Gareth Venables, Karl Robson and Alan Mountain

Texas Scramble
7 teams contested this traditional end of season event on a cold and frosty Scotland Hill course. Winners by 3 shots were team 2: Karl Robson, Gareth venables and Alan Mountain (above).

Spot prizes for longest drive and nearest the pins went to Kevin Mullins, Karl Robson, John Knight, Alan Mountain and new member James Pottle.


Society members with their Chocolate Orange Challenge donation

Chocolate orange Challenge
Challenge organisers Kevin Mullins and Alan Mountain surpassed last years Chocolate Orange Challenge with over 500 Chocolate Orange’s donated to front line NHS workers in Kent. This annual challenge is a big thanks from members of the society for their hard work and dedication.

“What an incredible showing of kindness by an extraordinary collection of humans. Eternal gratitude to the members of St Stephens Golf Society who donated 625 Chocolate Oranges to Team Chocolate Orange
The majority of these will be making their way, courtesy of Alan Mountain, to the 557 thoroughly deserving staff from the South East Coast Ambulance Service NHS Foundation Trust” – Kevin Mullins


2022 award winners L to R: Bob McDougal (KO Cup), Chris Snell (Wooden Spoon), Nigel Stevenson (Best Ave and Most Points), Ricky Woolley (Player of the Year)

2022 Awards
2022 Skipper Paul Sequenza completed a fantastic season with the annual awards presented to members at Canterbury Golf Club. With 3 major prizes up for grabs competition was hard-fought with the KO cup going to Bob McDougal after a hard fought final with Mick Bevan which went to the last putt of the round – See full report

The other 2 awards for most points and best average went to one of the societies senior member Nigel Stevenson with 369 total points at a best average (6 events) of 37 points per match.

Player of the year went to the ever popular Ricky Woolley for his dedication and hard work behind the scenes and Chris Snell secured the Wooden Spoon for the second consecutive year

Congratulations to all the winners and a big thanks to Paul Sequenza for his 2022 leadership

Photos courtesy Alan Mountain